Last Friday I tweaked my back a little doing this workout . I think my form faltered a bit on the cleans of the fourth round and I strained my quadratus lumborum right where it runs over the ilial crest. Ouch. I didn’t realize that it really was strained until 2 days later. Instead of the planned workouts for the week I’ve been swimming and running to rest my back.

Today was the first day I felt I could use the weights pain free, so I threw together this little workout:

Quick and Dirty

Warmup:

  • 3 round Medicine Ball Complex

1) 7 rounds of

  • 15 Kettlebell Swings
  • 10 Pushups
  • 10 Kettlebell Clean and Press (5 each side)
  • 10 Medicine Ball Slams
  • 45 seconds rest

2) 10 minute run in the Vibram Five Fingers to get used to running in them

I started of doing Single Arm Overhead Squats with the kettlebell instead of the Clean and Presses. However, I could feel my back twinge when I went deep, so I ditched those and switched it up.

It took me about 36 minutes for finish the warmup + 7 rounds. Felt good after 5 days off.

