I’m keeping up with one of Rob’s work capacity cycles. This workout is cribbed directly from him.

Two modifications:

– Step ups with 25# instead of 35#. The last work capacity workout that involved step ups I did with 35# and crashed completely. I had to call it after 10 rounds when I got dizzy and fell off the step box twice before dry heaving into the trash can for a couple of minutes. I’ll get to 35# but I got to work up to it.

– Slasher to halo with 16kg instead of 20kg. It’s a work capacity session, not strength, and I’m not to the point where I can handle 100 reps of 20kg slasher to halos without blowing up prematurely.

Even with these two modifications I’m going to have to push very very hard to finish.

GEAR ENVY

Obj: Work Capacity (20 min)

Warm up: 10-minute Kettlebell Complex

1 minute each doing the following exercises. Don’t put kettlebell down during entire time. Men use 12kg, Women, 8 kg.

1-Arm Swing left hand
Figure 8
1-Arm Swing right hand
Figure 8
1-Arm clean and press left hand
Slasher-to-Halo
Lunge (hold KB in right hand. lunge forward and back with left leg)
1-Arm clean and press right hand
Slasher-to-Halo
Lunge (hold KB in left hand. lunge forward and back with right leg)

Training:

(1) 10 Rounds for Time
50x Step up with backpack (M-35#, W-25#)
5x Slasher-to-Halo (10x total, M-20kg, W-12kg) – leave backpack on
5x Push ups with backpack

(2) 3 Rounds
Rope Climb
SAM – Shoulder Mobility Drill
10x Dips
90-second ab bridge complex (30 seconds each: side bridge, forward bridge (elbows), side bridge-other side)
10x Elevated Pull ups


Post Workout:

Shit. I have a lot further to go than I thought I did. This is supposed to be a 20 minute workout? It took me 20:26 to finish 5 rounds instead of the programmed 10. I didn’t even bother with with part 2 other than the SAM. Just completely wiped. I ate two hours before and from round 3 on I kept feeling I had to puke. Got very close. I have to train weighted step ups – a lot.

