After several days of hobbling around on very sore calves and resorting to swimming, pushups, and kettlebell swings – I finally got back in the Mountain Athlete groove.

Today’s workout – 100 Curtis Ps for time. My time and weight was 37:34 at 55#. Let’s just call it “room for improvement”. The goal for me was to finish, tough it out and set a marker that I can compare subsequent efforts to.

To give you an idea of how far I’ve got to go, the strength standards for men for this workout are 55% bodyweight in 30 minutes.

I weigh 207 right now, so that would mean completing the session 7 minutes faster and with 60# more weight. At my 190# target bodyweight I would be looking at 50# more. I’ve got a LOT of work to do to get there. This session will be a monthly test, adding 5# each month until I make the standard. By next spring I should have it!

