Today was supposed to be the first day of the 4-week Big 24 strength cycle. However, I was visiting my parents. I thought we still had a bar and some weights at their place, but I was wrong. Instead, I came up with the following work capacity routine with what I had: a 20 kg kettlebell and 65 lbs sandbag.

For time:

25-20-15-10-5 reps

– Strict Pushups
– 50 yard Sandbag Run
– Kettlebell Swing
– 50 yard Sandbag Run
– Sandbag Front Squats
– 50 yard Sandbag Run

So the first round would look like this:
– 25 Strict Pushups
– 50 yard Sandbag Run
– 25 Kettlebell Swings
– 50 yard Sandbag Run
– 25 Sandbag Front Squats
– 50 yard Sandbag Run

Second Round
– 20 Strict Pushups etc…

Hold the sandbag however you want on the run. There is simply no comfortable way to hold it since the same muscles you use to stabilize the sandbag are also the ones you need to breathe. Same thing goes for the front squat. This makes it a lot harder to recover and by the end of the 20 rep round I was hurting.

The sandbag pretty much forces you to hang on to it in a zercher hold. Bear hug is harder. Throwing it over either shoulder is easier, but then you aren’t really doing a front squat.

I did the workout in 23:55. I was happy to crank it out on a day most people are downing beers and eating chips, though it wasn’t the strength routine I had planned to do.

